Posted by: hellonhairylegs | January 29, 2008

A Questionable Rant of Little Substance

Godbaggery exists in many places in many forms

Why can’t I make jokes about the pope*? In my mind catholics* are screaming to be made fun of. In the world I live in priests wear frocks in an all male priesthood while condemning those who step outside rigid gender stereotypes. In my world there has been many scandals involving paedophilia in which the church supported the abuser. In my world the catholic church doesn’t believe that women have the right to control their own body. So why can’t I make an offhand joke about the Pope? How am I personally insulting a particular catholic’s family and entire lifestyle? And why the hell can the pope endorse policies that contribute to widespread death from AIDs and be respected for his religious conviction? People die because the pope thinks condoms are TEH EVIL. Fuck that and fuck him.

*Intentionally not capitalised

An Additional Note: I don’t have a problem with individual catholics or christians. I do dislike the patriarchal hierarchy surrounding mainstream religion

Leave a Reply

Categories

