Posted by: hellonhairylegs | February 17, 2008

Kindergarten Memories

Kingergarten, not precisely my memories

 

I was killing time, idly looking through some old report cards. There was a plethora of good grades and much adoration expressed by barely-remembered teachers. I was a “joy to teach”, “sensitive but enthusiastic” and “an excellent reader.” Hah, I think, I was awesome then and I’m awesome now.

 I then begin to sift through the pile of my sister’s report cards, still glowing with fuzzy memories. Like myself, my sister did extremely well in class; in fact she got the highest mark in every category bar one: vocal skills. This was a surprise to me, as my sister hasn’t ever really had a problem expressing herself. I read the fine print and was enlightened. Apparently my sister mixed up words, clearly a foul crime. The words which she so confused? “He and she” So my sister was marked down for her inability recognise the gender binary as a kindergarten student.

I’m sure the teachers didn’t see the situation as indoctrination; after all Generic Name was only a cute kid who didn’t know what she was saying. It was up to the holders of patriarchy wisdom to educate Generic Name, for her own good.

 Indoctrination is everywhere, even in the kindergarten classroom. Fuck that shit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

