Posted by: hellonhairylegs | February 20, 2008

The Gifts of Radical Feminism and an Oscar Speech

Thank you!

 

The Scene: I sit in front of my computer, typing up an interminable essay. An idea for a blog post pops into my head and I start typing frantically.

Rewind a year. I am shaved, waxed, plucked and incredibly depressed. I pick up The Whole Woman by Germaine Greer and my entire life changes.

Cut back to the present. I’m a relatively happy teenager with good grades. I have a bunch of awesome friends online who have taught me so much. I have words and concepts that I can use to express my anger productively. I no longer care about how fat I look, or what colour my hair is. I am more educated about the world’s problems, and I can recognise my privilege.

All these gifts are incredible, but radical feminism has given me so much more, something beyond mere words.

I have the confidence to be myself, to ask for help and to go for what I want. Radical feminism helped me grow up, as opposed to being stuck in the mind of a neurotic diet-obsessed child. I may be scarred, I may be oppressed single every day of my life, but I am free.

So to Twisty, Germaine Greer, Heart, CM and everyone else who has got me to where I am today, thank you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

