Posted by: hellonhairylegs | April 7, 2008

My First Troll

The assembly line

That could almost be a title for a picture book.

Little Annie was looking at her dashboard and she had a comment to moderate.

The comment was full of hateful bile.

She didn’t know what to do

With help from her friends she decided to delete the comment.

She slept soundly that night, safe in the knowledge no one else would have to read the silly comment.

(There was much rejoicing)

Somehow I don’t think it would be a bestseller. 

I got my first troll today. It was a rather disappointing experience; I was expecting fire, blood and an excessive use of caps lock. All I got was a couple paragraphs of garbage. My comments policy explicitly states that I will delete comments I don’t like. It also states that this blog is not a place to argue whether feminism is needed or not. Do trolls find it hard to read?

I hesitated before I pushed the delete button. I almost forgot that I have the right to keep this blog safe and free from bile.    

Responses

  1. Delete them with a song in your heart! It’s your soapbox, and no one else has a right to it.

    If you do ever feel like letting them through to make a point, there are a couple of tools we use that you may or may not be interested in – the Mark of the Troll (just change the troll’s email address to “trolling.idiot@gmail.com”, and the troll gravatar will appear), and disemvowelment (tool here). You can see ’em in action here.

  2. Oh, I love the disemvowelment! Whoever invented that won the internet for at least a week.

    Thanks for the links/ advice. I’m sure they’ll come in handy in the future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

