Posted by: hellonhairylegs | June 23, 2008

Angst Angst Woe Woe

Mother Dearest: “It isn’t rape! They slept with the slave owners because they knew it was better than a beating.”

The Patriarch: “I remember in high school we had a Coat Hanger Award. We gave it to this girl who had two abortions. Don’t you think that’s funny? *hur hur*”

Fellow Spawn (v1): “Fat people are just soooo unhealthy. I‘m not eating anything unhealthy, stop trying to share your milkshake with me!”

Fellow Spawn (v2): “Obnoxious Boy won’t go out with me and it’s all your fault! Why do you have to be so feminist?”

Obnoxious Boy: “You should watch 2 girls 1 cup. *hur hur*”

Responses

  1. Stay Calm. Breathe in. Breathe out. Know we are here for you. Not everyone in the world is insane.

    My Mother does the “Fellow Spawn (v1)” every once in a while, though she is pretty feminist otherwise. Point being, you can’t make them see every valid point you make. Start slowly with tiny steps. Living will become more bearable for you, if not comfortable, with the tiny steps that they accept.

    And always remember to bring your teaspoon.

  2. Holy fuck.

    Hang in there.

  3. headdesk

  4. Wow. Where is your mom getting the idea that having sex with someone as an alternative to beatings isn’t rape? By that reasoning, a woman who doesn’t struggle when a guy holds a knife to her throat isn’t being raped either, since it’s better than having her throat slit!
    I too have had to deal with a lot of ignorance lately, too, but most of it is racist instead of sexist.

  5. Thanks Jokerine and notawhisper.

    Nakedthoughts: I actually did *headdesk* when my teacher said that. I think he was a little surprised.

    Crankosaur: Maybe she figured since the slaves were “owned” that their owners had a right to them as property, after all, it isn’t that much of a stretch from there to the condonement of marital rape. I just don’t know what to say sometimes.

  6. Yep, that’s what to be expected running a feminist blog. I’ve gotten worse, in fact the comments I have deleted in my past were so horrible that two in particular sent me into an extremely vivid flashback due to prior childhood abuse. Yep, people sure are clever with their “funny” comments.

  7. A bit of sizeism is always fun.

  8. you know what, love?
    I read your blog sometimes.
    without sounding ancient, which I’m not…
    the fact that you can see what you’re looking at while you’re looking at it is amazing. I just wanted to send you some love and support. being articulate will save your ass.
    take good care.
    p.s. do those t-shirts.
    Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

