Posted by: hellonhairylegs | July 1, 2008

Don’t Make Him Mad

Sydney is hosting World Youth day this year. Hordes of youth are scheduled to celebrate the Catholic faith in all its anti-choice, anti-woman and anti-GLBT glory. I’ve been pretty pissed off about this, given the fact that I’m a queer woman who would like to keep control over her own uterus. Imagine how very unsuprised I was when I found out that our police have wonderful new powers.

EXTRAORDINARY new powers will allow police to arrest and fine people for “causing annoyance” to World Youth Day participants and permit partial strip searches at hundreds of Sydney sites, beginning today.

The laws, which operate until the end of July, have the potential to make a crime of wearing a T-shirt with a message on it, undertaking a Chaser-style stunt, handing out condoms at protests, riding a skateboard or even playing music, critics say.

I was just filled with joy. You see, I always wanted to know what the inside of a police station looked like. Now I might have a chance to find out.

This is utter bullshit. First the government spends mega-bucks on World Youth Day, then they remove some basic rights on a whim.

While I don’t relish the thought of imprisonment, I will be protesting and I want to do it in style. Luckily I’m working on making t-shirts for a school project. This gives me a chance to practice. Possible Slogans so far:

  • “Women’s rights are human rights!”
  • “If you cut off my reproductive rights, can I cut off yours?” (with scissors)
  • “Don’t like abortion? Don’t have one.”
  • “Keep your laws off my body”
  • “I’m for the separation of church and hate”
  • “Please keep your religion off my civil rights”

Any more suggestions?

Responses

  1. I’d love to be sent down under a charge of ‘causing annoyance’… perhaps I’ll do hard labour for ‘giving dirty looks’ too.

    I’m pretty sure Jesus would not be down with that sort of thing.

    I’d be more likely to go with the ‘I’ll let the bible into science textbooks when you let science into the bible’ camp, but that’s just sticking with what I know.

    Wow, thinking about it there are almost too many things to protest against… perhaps a revolving billboard of protest would be more appropriate…

    Unfortunately I won’t be there to listen to music and violate the law with my skateboard, but if you are going, you have me best wishes and grattitude.

  2. My personal raison d’etre involves annoying bigots by proving that I’ve actually read the Bible and that the teachings of Jesus of Nazareth are not reflected in their bigotry. For example, the story told in John 8: 2-11 ends quite differently than the bigots would have it end: “And Jesus said, ‘Neither do I condemn you.'” Sounds like a nice guy.

    There’s also Luke 11:42: “Woe to you Pharisees, because you give G-d a tenth of your mint, rue and all other kinds of garden herbs, but you neglect justice and the love of G-d. You should have practiced the latter without leaving the former undone.”

    And, for that matter, Luke 6:37: “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned.”

    My $0.02. Your mileage may vary.

  3. Great slogan ideas, Hellon. I may use the second one.

  4. allow police to arrest and fine people for “causing annoyance”

    That would be hilarious if it wasn’t true.

    Another good one would be to have two slogans, one on the front and one on the back. I’ve always been fond of “This is what a feminist looks like” and “Keep your laws off my body” or “My body, my choice,” and “women’s rights are human rights” is of course a classic and very appropriate for the occasion I think.

    Some others:
    If you can’t trust me with choice, how can you trust me with a child?
    Keep your rosaries off my ovaries (That’d be a good one)
    No going back
    Don’t put me on a pedestal and then expect me to dust it.
    Equal rights are not special rights
    Ever wonder why god-centered religions make a woman responsible for messing up the world?
    If you feel attacked by feminism it’s probably a counter-attack
    Of Course I’m A Feminist
    The best man for a job may be… a WOMAN.
    When men are oppressed, it’s a tragedy. When women are oppressed, it’s a tradition.
    Which of us is the opposite sex?
    Every child a wanted child
    Forced Pregnancy Increases Church Membership
    I am not an incubator
    Closets Are For Clothes
    Come Out, Come Out, Whoever You Are
    Don’t assume I’m straight and I won’t assume you’re an asshole
    I don’t believe you exist either
    Queers Bash Back

  5. “Keep your rosaries off our ovaries”
    “Pro life, that’s a lie – you don’t care if women die”

  6. I understand all to well about the oppression that most churches impose upon women. The funny thing is, I actually go to a Catholic college. Hypocrite? I don’t think so. Sometimes, the best way to protest what you don’t like is to right there in the think of it. We have a LBTG on campus and every year we hand out free t-shirts. This year’s was “GAY I’m cool with that” in black on a bright orange shirt. Last year’s was “GAY, fine by me” I think is more people participated in activities like this, society in general might start to realize all the bullshit that gets directed towards women (not to mention the whole LBTG community).


Leave a Reply

Categories

