Posted by: hellonhairylegs | July 5, 2008

*headdesk* plus Obama

How do you get from this

to this?

I have repeatedly said that I think it’s entirely appropriate for states to restrict or even prohibit late-term abortions as long as there is a strict, well-defined exception for the health of the mother. Now, I don’t think that “mental distress” qualifies as the health of the mother. I think it has to be a serious physical issue that arises in pregnancy, where there are real, significant problems to the mother carrying that child to term. Otherwise, as long as there is such a medical exception in place, I think we can prohibit late-term abortions.

Your concern and love for women doesn’t really shine through all your posturing to the Christian Right. Now, here’s a tip: if you’re going to hold Roe over our heads like the Sword of Damocles then you had better follow up on it.

Responses

  1. A very small part of me is enjoying this, to be honest. You know how many times I told my fellow Floridian Democratic feminists that Obama is weak on choice? And I was shunned.

    This thing was four years in the coming.

    That being said, it’s frakkin awful and the Dems need to make some serious noise.

  2. Damn straight. I saw this and wanted to scream. Hopefully the Democrats will wake up and we can have a Clinton/Obama ticket. Obama needs to grow up before he becomes president.

    I’m glad that I’m not able to vote for this election, Voting McCain is kinda silly given the fact that he is woman-hating jackass. The only options at this point is voting for a third-party, writing in Clinton or staying home.

  3. He’s not so “brilliant” afterall…perhaps the koolaid is getting a bit STALE.

  4. I have been wanting to blog about this but seriously cannot come up with any other commentary other than “WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING!?” Now, I wanted to see Obama with the democratic nomination, I would not vote for Hillary and honestly and personally do not believe she would make a good president. I am, however, rooting for an Obama/Clinton ticket because I think where Obama lacks, Clinton can make up for it and so forth. I will not, under any circumstances whatsoever, vote McCain. His record on choice makes me want to puke, he is the KING of flip flopping, when asked if we should send contraception to Africa, he said he thought whatever Bush thought on the subject and also used that response for several other questions, his mind is insanely warped, I believe he has dementia and I would be scared for my life and my freedoms as a woman in America with him as president. I’m considering writing in Mike Gravel for this one, because if Obama is flip flopping on his case so soon, there’s only more to follow in the future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

