Posted by: hellonhairylegs | July 8, 2008

The Mall: SHOPPING EXPEDITION

Oh yes, I went to the mall yesterday. It was a very boring day; I went shopping and bought seven items of clothing. Shopping while feminist is a difficult task, because if a particular item of clothing isn’t manufactured in a sweatshop, the brand pulls a PETA and markets their products with the objectification of women. Only one of my purchases was vaguely ethical and it has already been “borrowed” by my sister; I suspect I shall never see it again.

So we roamed from shop to shop and all of ‘em had clothes that looked exactly the same. The clothing shops could be divided into two general categories, cheap teenage clothes and department stores. There are a few keys differences between the two; the former has t-shirts twenty dollars cheaper while the latter has in-store toilets. Of course, just to shake things up, there was the occasional sports store which had the same clothes with different necklines.

No matter which store I went into, all the women’s clothes had something in common: they were being attacked. Hordes of frills joined forces with armies of ruffles. Regiments of unnecessary buttons combined with squadrons of bows. It was terrible, and the merchant companies containing nameless hybrids turned it into a slaughter.

I hate malls. They are fluorescent hellholes containing layers of cheap crap from China for the delectation of a loud and smelly crowd. I can only console myself with the fact that it isn’t as bad as America, which has the same set up; only the scale is measured in square kilometres.  

What did I learn from the experience? Well, if you’re fat then you might as well jump off a cliff. Seriously, the word fat is used in female change rooms more than any other. The dread with which it is spoken makes the word sound like some combination of “evil” and “unfuckable”. I guess I could talk about how I learned important fashion rules, but to me it sounded like malicious sprites put the names of colours and random clothing into a random rule generator.

In summary: malls suck.

Responses

  1. everything I get comes from op shops or garage sales. It is ethical, less wasteful and you dont have to deal with mall people. op shop poeple are usually old and poor and sometimes a bit mad. I relate to them a lot more than i relate to mall people. the only things I get new are shoes, socks and underwear. but even my underwear I patch up the holes again and again so that i dont have to get more. just shows how much i hate shopping!

  2. Good idea! It will be interesting to see if my parents notice the difference.

  3. My wallet notices the difference!!! I live in the blue mountains and it is very cold up here. Wool is the best thing in this weather, but there is no way I could afford to buy woollen clothing new. My op shop woollen jumpers only cost a few dollars and they are wonderful. Also I am a big fan of velvet and velvet is also pretty expensive. But yeah, op shops are so cheap. And there is always variety. I don’t understand why anyone would buy new. Especially with everyone always complaining about the rising cost of living and inflation and all that bs.

    Oh and if you are really lucky you can sometimes get great shoes. The problem is always the coincidence of size but I’ve seen new looking Doc Martens for $15 and stuff. It is always great to score finds like that. Good Luck!

  4. One thing worse than malls? Wal-Mart. And that is essentially our choice here in the US – Wal-Mart or The Mall. The choice is largely dictated by socioeconomic status and geography. Urban + rich = mall. Rural + poor = Wal-Mart. Urban + poor = dumpster diving.

    You realize you have killed my naive dreams that the soul-sucking corporate stamp of patriarchal androcentric retail was largely isolated in the US? I somehow thought a country lacking a Reagan-Bush legacy would be more feminist-friendly……

    As for affordable clothes lacking the stain of slave labor and objectification of women? Non-existent. I spent a summer reading factory certification reports throughout Central and South America where I learned the no matter how expensive the brand or how good their marketing (or even how comparably well they treat their workers) – there is no such thing as a feminist garment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

