Posted by: hellonhairylegs | July 13, 2008

Part of the Straw Collection

I haven’t posted in a while as I’ve been in the throes of a patriarchal overload. I am frustrated by sexism, racism and homophobia appearing everywhere I turn, from the newspapers to Fellow Spawn’s ipod.

In the end it wasn’t some outrageously misogynist rapper that prompted me to sit semi-catatonic in front of a television for three days, it was a clueless woman peddling slightly naughty fluff.

I kissed a girl and I liked it,
the taste of her cherry chapstick.
I kissed a girl just to try it,
I hope my boyfriend don’t mind it.

Why must everything be about teh menz? Even love between two women is subjected to male approval, male eyes. STOP LOOKING AT US. We aren’t interested in your attention, your smirks, your shrill cries of “that’s so hawt!” Why must our deviancy from patriarchal norms be turned into a show of submission? Piss off already.

I am so fucking tired of lesbian love being used as a joke, used for male titillation and marketed as a sexyfun thing. I’m tired of having another part of me turned into a product, marketed and sold.

Responses

  1. Yeah, I heard the song on the radio and was thinking it was kinda neat until I heard the “boyfriend” line. Then it was “oh, it’s one of those songs.” *eyeroll*
    Someone (I forget who) called it “performative bisexuality”. As a bisexual who kisses girls cause I want to, am actually attracted to girls, and not to please some tool, I find the whole thing irritating and offensive.

  2. Also throughout the song she keeps referring to the other female as “an experiment” and how she doesn’t need to know her name.

    gaaaahhhhhhh.

    I mean I know that there are people of every gender and orientation that have anonymous kisses, but still. I’m not one of them so I think it’s a bit rude to use someone thusly….

  3. Agreed!
    Just wrote about Perry over at my blog too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

