Posted by: hellonhairylegs | September 18, 2008

How to be Labelled a Slut in an Australian High School

I have heard many people refer to my classmates as sluts for a variety of reasons. If you covet the title for yourself, here are a few handy tips.

  • Sleep with someone other than your steady boyfriend OR
  • Like two people in one week.
  • Go out with two different people in a fortnight.
  • Be sexually attracted to two people at once.
  • Be moderately sexually attracted to a guy who isn’t your boyfriend.
  • Be majorly sexually attracted to anyone.
  • Be too pretty.
  • Be too ugly.
  • Admit you masturbate.
  • Have three buttons undone on your school uniform.

Of course if you want to be labelled frigid there are a few easy steps you can carry out.

  • Don’t sleep with a boyfriend of more than two months OR
  • Don’t be sexually attracted to the current Alpha dude on campus.
  • Be pretty and “waste it” by not sleeping with dudes.
  • Be ugly and not make up for it by letting dudes degrade you.
  • Be a lesbian.
  • Yell at guys who harass you.
  • Have only one button undone on your school uniform.

Don’t want to be labelled either?

  • Become invisible OR
  • Grow a penis.

Though high school does end (*joy dance*) so you’ll have to get a new guide for university/ the workplace.

Responses

  1. I think we could make a fortune on “Masturbation is for sluts” t-shirts. We could sell them to small-minded people who think we’re serious, AND to feminists who understand irony and facetious clothing.

  2. I think the rules for labels of “slut” and “frigid” are the same in American High School too according to daughter. She came home the other day totally perplexed at the way some girls were getting one label and others the other label when “GOD Mom, they are not ANY different than ANY of the other girls. And why don’t the boys get called sluts when some of them are doing it with several different girls IN THE SAME WEEK?”.

    Gag. It sparked a rather interesting conversation between her, her 2 brothers and I. I can’t say that University is a whole lot different than high school but people tend to be more polite about it unless they are drinking. Maybe it’s better if you go to an all-girls Uni?

  3. High school students are among the most conformist, ignorant, hate-spewing individuals in society, with a few exceptions, and when you put so many of them together in one building, it gets ugly. It does get better eventually! Not like, completely, but a little bit, at least!

  4. Hey,
    Just wanted to let you know that I recently stumbled upon your blog and I love it. Plus, we high school feminists have to show some solidarity, no?
    I definitely agree with everything you’ve said here. As someone who is openly bisexual, I have been labeled a slut when I’m dating a guy, a freak when I’m dating a girl, and a frigid dyke when I turn a guy down. I’m multi-faceted!
    I came out as queer when I started dating my first girlfriend last winter. My friends already knew, but the rest of the school pretty much flipped out when they found out there was a Real Live Lesbian Couple!!!1! After all the crap I got, I figure you just have to say fuck it, you know? For example, as president of my school’s Gay-Straight Alliance, I was the one at the sign-up booth this year. At least six guys, mostly freshmen who came up to my hip in height, told me they wouldn’t sign up for my club (but really wanted some free Skittles) because they “didn’t want to be gay, man”. Finally, when the last kid presented me this answer, I snapped and said, “Yeah, because that’s what we do on the first day. We make you gay and then we MAKE YOU LIKE IT.”

    I shouldn’t have enjoyed the look of fear on his face, but I did anyways.

  5. I don’t know Amy, we might get sued if people start having heart attacks at reading the word masturbation.

    Kay, I figured American high school was the same, but all the depictions I’ve seen of it are through Hollywood or through the rose-coloured glasses of my cheerleader mom. I hope your daughter gets through high school relatively sane.

    Thanks crankosaur. High school students are interesting, because many of them are repeating what their parents think, being obnoxious to piss off their parents or starting to think for themselves.

    Welcome Alexandra! I know what you mean, for some strange reason people think if you are a girl who likes girls then you automatically have a problem with sex. Good for you for coming out at school. I’m out at the moment, having told my friends and bringing it up in conversations when it is relevant, but I haven’t done anything towards founding/ leading a Gay-Straight Alliance. Maybe I can get some of my queer friends from younger years to consider it.

  6. thanks for the welcome! Yeah, I definitely hate the assumption that any sex that isn’t heterosexual penis-vagina intercourse isn’t “real” sex. I really want to wear a shirt to school that says, “I love sex (but not with you)

    I would definitely encourage you to talk to your underclassmem friends, or even start something now while you’re still at school. Running GSA has been one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve had.

  7. University will be better. It’s not that people magically become wonderful (still plenty of misogynist arseholes around, and lots of young women who deride feminism), but it is much easier to find a little niche where most of the people are fairly decent. You’ll have access to a Women’s Room, and there should be a gay-straight alliance of some description.

  8. Alexandra, your comment cracked me up. There was *no* such thing as a GSA when I went to high school, but I’m sure I would’ve heard the same thing had there been one. I think my response would’ve been a snarky “Well, if you’re stupid enough to think that, then you don’t meet the IQ requirements anyway.” But then, I’m vicious that way.
    I never got the trope about high school being “the best years of your life”. Where’d that come from, anyway?

  9. PS- Ooo, ooh! I’m a slut! Me! Do I get my sticker now?

  10. Thanks Alexandra. I will see about Australian precedents and see if anyone I know is interested.

    Beppie, I am really excited about uni. I get the feeling that I will meet lots of other progressives and we can deride the misogynist arsholes together.

    Lemur, I think high school being the best years of our life is just part of youth obsessed culture or just a case of rose-coloured glasses.

  11. Lemur- I think the only people who actually believe that high school was the best years of their lives are the football jocks who peaked at seventeen and are now working as car salesmen. And we should totally have IQ-requirements! Mensa does it, why can’t we? It could be part of our mission statement: “GSA: We like ’em young, tender, and brainy.”

  12. My dad used to say “If you’re gonna be dumb, you better be tough” whenever I or my brothers did something stupid.
    So, I guess the new GSA slogan could be, “If you’re gonna be gay, you better be smart”?
    *Re-reading that* …Or not.

  13. Haha, the last thing I need is all the homophobic prepsters at my school flipping out at me for “discriminating against stupid people!!!” I get the feeling that they’re waiting for me to do something offensive. The school just loves having the diversity cred. They want to publish a profile on us in their newsletter. I got an email about it yesterday- they want me to “explain how the club exemplifies the school’s dedication to cultural diversity” without being “too controversial”. Uh, I’ll get right on that…

  14. Aaaggghhh! I have three beautiful daughters, one aged nearly 10, two aged seven, and this post scares the hell out of me. What a minefield for them, and you, and other young women, to negotiate.

    Doing my best to raise them feminist…

  15. […] Andra discovers the new phenomenon of virtual boyfriends in Japan and Hellonhairylegs lets you know how to be labelled a slut in an Australian high school. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

