Posted by: hellonhairylegs | October 4, 2008

Gone Studyin’ (But I’ll Still Be Hanging Around Anyway)

Right now I’m re-reading Brave New World for the fourth or fifth time (it has blurred into a “nightmare of indistinguishable sameness”). When I read “But I don’t want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.” all I can think is that John is a Giant Baby and I don’t care. I’m supposed to be thinking about how this reflects on human nature and all. Right now all I’m thinking is how much I want something on my reading list that isn’t dripping with racism, sexism and heteronormativity. I’ll settle for sin though.

  

Hope everyone is having a decent October, whether that involves daylight savings, school holidays or drinking games.

Responses

  1. Also, as an identical twin, I get offended by the book’s assumption that the more times you split an egg, the less human the result is.

  2. Just an aside, but, holy crap is that a real church sign in your blog? That’s ridiculous.

  3. Yeah, a few big feminist blogs reported on it a while back. You can always rely on certain American christians for a bit of bigotry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

