Posted by: hellonhairylegs | November 15, 2008

The Great Feminist Denial by Monica Dux and Zora Simic

How could I say no to a free book? I’m deliberately not going to weigh in on the Monica Dux controversy.

I had never thought much about the generation gap before. My arrogant and irreverent nature makes me feel like ‘most everyone is my peer. I learn from the mommy-bloggers, the political junkies, the poets (and combinations of the above) and hopefully they learn from me, the hairy-legged lesbian. It seems like a good system. 

Who needs anonymity anyway?

Who needs anonymity anyway?

There is a dry voice winding through the book that occassionally pops out, delivers a smackdown and then sinks back down into the page. It is the kind of book you can pick up, turn to almost any page and read. The book isn’t that revolutionary and contains far too many quotation marks. The main message I took from the book was that I shouldn’t blame the media for everything. I have instead decided to blame the economy that created the media. 

I really hope that the reference to Afghani women getting themselves raped was an attempt at irony. Otherwise my head might explode and I would have to send a nasty email.

The book is useful in pointing out that feminists aren’t too blame for the problems patriarchy causes. It would be nice if people already knew that.

I felt that this quote from the book is particularly pertinent for the feminist blogosphere.

We feminists, it seems, have our own straw feminist in mind- she is smarter than us, is better read and has gone to more rallies. Or she has more reason to be a feminist, as if being a woman person isn’t enough.

Strikethrough and red pen mine.

Responses

  1. There was a very good thread about this book over at Hoyden, don’t know if you saw it.
    I object to the title and the cover; total pandering.

  2. Yeah, that monster thread was something. I think the title could be construed as an homage to The Female Eunuch or just another feminism book made up to look non-threatening.


Leave a Reply

Categories

