Posted by: hellonhairylegs | November 17, 2008

Comfort Women/ Jugun Ianfu

Excerpt from here.

While serving as a “comfort woman” Ms. Chong Ok Sun witnessed the Japanese torture a Korean girl who asked why they were forced to service up to forty men a day. A Japanese commander ordered her to be beaten with a sword while the other “comfort women” watched. The soldiers stripped the girl, tied her arms and legs, and rolled her over a board covered in nails “until the nails were covered with blood and pieces of her flesh.” She was then decapitated. One Japanese officer told the witnesses that “it’s easy to kill you all, easier than killing dogs” and suggested that the flesh of the dead girl would be boiled and the survivors forced to eat it.

It’s estimated that there were 200,000 comfort women and that only 25% survived (wikipedia article with citations and resources here).

Responses

  1. My (Korean) friend’s mother won’t even buy Japanese cars because of what happened during WW2. A LOT of older Koreans are still pissed, and to be honest, I don’t blame them. Japan STILL has not apologized for the enslavement of thousands of Koreans, and it was only last year that they acknowledged that it even happened!

  2. Sometimes it’s hard even for a bitter old man-hating separatist like me to try to wrap my head around how much so many males hate us.

  3. Last night on SBS there was a doco about the Nazi’s doing it. I just couldn’t bring myself to watch it.

    Especially since I also have a Neo at my workplace.

    I just don’t know how I’d handle it and I really don’t want to find out unless I’m forced to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

