Posted by: hellonhairylegs | December 17, 2008

Where did I put that Darn Reputation?

After reading the “Who’s the TV couple of the Noughties?” hoyden thread I’ve decided that I’m a hopeless romantic. Given the age of the thread (and that when I started writing a reply I ended up with half a page of text) I’m going to post here with my opinion of the best couples.

Of course, just to get the Torchwood out of my system

Gwen and Tosh with the It totally should have happened award
Gwen and Tosh with the “It totally should have happened” award

 And onto the real Doctor Who

Rose and Nine with the Almost as skeezy as Emma/ Knightley but OMG chemistry! award
Rose and Nine with the “Almost as skeezy as Emma/ Knightley but OMG chemistry!” award

Donna and Sarah Jane get awards for being awesome, but that is a different post.

Now to Veronica Mars, a television show that really needed to have a fourth season (*still bitter*)

Veronica and Logan win the SNAP award

Veronica and Logan win the SNAP award

I can’t forget Bones

Bones and Booth win the You can only take sexual tension so far award
Bones and Booth win the “You can only take sexual tension so far” award

Narrowly beating Starbuck/ Anders/ Apollo (you know Starbuck should get both) on the Battlestar Galatica front

Adama and Roslin with Better than all those youngins award
Adama and Roslin with the “Better than all those youngins” award

Last but not least, the best couple in Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Willow and Tara with the SQUEENESS! award
Willow and Tara with the “SQUEENESS!” award

 Never fear, I shall soon have an angry post up and we can forget I ever had these terrible womanly emotions.

Responses

  1. Count me in as even more hopeless – I reckon the coolest thing about Bones/Booth is not their sexual tension, which is so-so, but their emotional tension.

    But I also kinda ship Bones/Angela.

  2. I never expect to see a screen relationship again as beautiful, natural and moving as Willow and Tara. Cried buckets at every step. Funny thing about American accents, originally I thought her name was Terra – as in the Latin word for earth. I figured it was because of her earth-muffin, hippie-chick vibe. Took me ages to realise it was actually Tara put through the Californian vowel mincer.

  3. We just saw the Adama-reading-to-Roslin-in-sickbay episode. Goddamn that was adorable, and they are so awesome, and I can only hope to be that cool when I get old and grizzled.

  4. I never expect to see a screen relationship again as beautiful, natural and moving as Willow and Tara. Cried buckets at every step.

    Me, too.

  5. Tosh/Gwen? Not Tosh/Martha? 😛

    I have to say, I really love Adama/Roslin too– there’s something about them that makes me very very happy. And Starbuck/Anders/Apollo– BRILLIANT. 🙂

  6. (Just as an aside, is it just me, or do the wordpress “normal” smiley faces look a bit evil?)

  7. I never expect to see a screen relationship again as beautiful, natural and moving as Willow and Tara. Cried buckets at every step.

    Me, too.

    Me three.

    Lauredhel, Beppie, I’m with you on the Bones/ Angela and Tosh/ Martha. Just so many possibilities. Of course I spend half the time wondering when characters are going to have sex and the other half complaining about how sex is portrayed.

    The smilies are a bit evil, but I consider them eccentric and leave it at that.

  8. Just so many possibilities.

    Indeed. I’m still sad that Tosh and Sarah Jane never met in canon– that would have been a great ship.

  9. I liked Willow and Tara together too… just lovely.

    Logan and Veronica kill me, I reckon they are up there with Darcy and Elizabeth (whom I luuuuuurrrrrve). Agreed with you on the lack of fourth season – and why the hell didn’t they make it second year uni??? I hated the third season, my friend and I decided to write it off as a weird AU thing that never really happened.

  10. There will never be a couple on television like Willow/Tara. I cried so many times watching them and cheered for their romance.

    I am actually glad there wasn’t a 4th season of Veronica Mars. The first season was some of the best tv I have ever seen. The second season was “good,” but the third season was awful and almost unwatchable.

    Love this blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

