Posted by: hellonhairylegs | December 18, 2008

T-Shirts

I know that the loot for the great summer solstice celebration is beginning to pile up in the nooks and crannies of my house. Among this loot lies three t-shirts that are MINE. Two of them are the classical, angry t-shirts which broadcast to the world that the wearer is a jerk. One is all rainbow coloured and pretty (seriously, all anyone has to do to keep me quiet is lock me in a room with an infinite book supply and the occasional kaledoscope). I like them.

Anyway, I was considering the politics of wearing your politics on your chest and it seems to me that t-shirts are an excellent indicator of personality. For example when you see a guy with “never trust something that bleeds for a week and doesn’t die” emblazoned on his chest, then you know you should do your best to make him bleed. Personally, I want a t-shirt that says “Never trust a man who wears a sexist t-shirt,” but that might imply I actually care about men. Decisions, decisions.

Responses

  1. I’m going to hazard a guess here and assume that quote was from the shirt of the guy you shoulder charged? if so then I’m gonna have to give you a “right on!” for that.

    Truly it was the worst thing to come out of Dilbert.

  2. HHL, don’t you know that if you wear a shirt with words across the chest, that means you are trying to draw attention to your hoobers? And that if you wear such a shirt, you have no right to complain that men are staring at them? That’s what teh menz tell me, anyway. Nevermind that they are going to look anyway, so if you have a message you’d like to get out, your chest is probably the best place to ensure maximum visibility. They’re more likely to notice it there than if you tattoo it on your forehead.

    I’d like a shirt that says, “Private property- no trespassing”.

  3. Tamala, that quote was from a guy I wished I shoulder-charged. The guy I actually shoulder charged has a shirt with a “To Do” checklist involving stereotypes of women. Several boxes were ticked.

    PJ, when I was fourteen and my breats went on a massive growth spurt I really wanted a t-shirt that just had the word “No” on it in really big letters.

  4. I once thought about printing a shirt that said: “Just because you can read this doesn’t mean you can stare” but I thought it might be a bit long and be counterproductive so I never went through with it.

  5. I really want a shirt that says “end patriarchy” in XML. I’ve seen them at zazzle.com and radicalrags.com. I know some people who would get it right away and some who would probably be confused by it, though.

  6. Great shirt idea HHL 🙂
    I know a place nearby that can make it happen if you want.

    Right now, the best one I have says
    “If you can read this you’re within roundhouse kick range”

  7. One of my friends has a t-shirt with and upwards pointing arrow and the text ‘My face is up here’.

    My current favourite is one which says ‘Cake is awesome!’ with a picture of a cake waving an electric guitar.


Leave a Reply

Categories

