Posted by: hellonhairylegs | December 19, 2008

My Sisters had a Supernatural Marathon

You know you’ve had a bad week when the thought of Tweedle-Dean going to hell is a cheery one. I’ve just finished Intercourse by Andrea Dworkin, and damn, putting the ipod on shuffle is illuminating enough without the misogyny saturation of Supernatural.

Also, since when was a coven (young, white and hawt) Mother, Mother and Mother? And what is with the witch-hatred?

I’m cheering for Lilith. Who’s with me?

Responses

  1. I’ll always cheer for Lilith. 🙂

    I haven’t seen Supernatural, even though I know a lot of people in Who/TW fandoms like it. But from what I’ve heard the whole thing focuses on Sam and Dean, with not a strong female in sight (at least not that anyone’s talked about). Even (guiltily, I must admit doing this) when I follow fandoms for the male characters (*coughcoughjackandiantocough*), I just don’t feel comfortable if there aren’t strong female characters in there too.

    Have you seen Merlin? I’ve heard lots of good things about that, and it seems to have plenty of strong female characters. I think I might give that one a go over the Christmas/New Year period.

  2. There are some strong female characters that die, or get injured, or have phallic objects shoved into them, or are outwitted, or who get epithets thrown at them, or who are just generally used for male titillation.

    i.e. some female characters could be awesome if they weren’t undermined at every turn.

    I haven’t heard of Merlin *goes to google*

  3. I tried to watch Supernatural, but it opened with a big ugly Women In Refrigerator plot, and went downhill from there. My effort didn’t last.

    Have you seen Luminosity’s Supernatural songvid, “Women’s Work”? (could be triggery)

  4. Yep, I’ve seen the vid. Season three gears it up, if anything. I’m still pissed at the use of Lilith as a random demon mastermind when she is so much cooler than that.

    I looked at Merlin, it kinda plods along as Robin Hood jumps merrily.


Leave a Reply

Categories

