Posted by: hellonhairylegs | July 4, 2009

A Letter

Dear Patriarchy,

I am Lilith. I am Hatshepsut, Sylvia Plath and Jean d’Arc. I am the evil brunette, the bitch who won’t shut up and won’t sit down. One day I will disintegrate; this mind, this body or this soul will break, but I will be broken prying your claws away from the puppet strings of my world. And I will not be alone.

Listen.

Sisterhood is deep, deep beyond your reckoning. For as long as humankind exists, there will be women like me. For as long as oppression and inequality exists, we will fight it, for we are not made to be docile. For every atrocity, every lie, every petty act of hatred shows us what you really are, your workings, your weaknesses.

We have heard women roar, and take full humanity as our birthright. The jack will not go back into the box. We know you, we name you and one day, you will be broken.

Responses

  1. Bookmarked! Will go on a poster soon and hung up above my desk.

    Have you considered a career in writing? You are so inspiring.

  2. Thanks 🙂 I’m blushing. I have no idea exactly what I’m going to do with my life, though I think writing will make up some part of it.

  3. Oh wow, this is amazing.

  4. Yes, this is powerful.

    You’re a good writer.

  5. I really, genuinely wish I had the confidence in sisterhood that you seem to.

  6. Love it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

